My first tattoos

To celebrate getting my P2 grade in Krav Maga, I got my first two tattoos, both of them Christian symbols: an Icthys (Jesus Fish), and a Trinity knot.

My Ichthys tattoo

My Ichthys tattoo

I was a bit nervous beforehand about how painful it would be, but it wasn’t that bad; around the nettle-sting level, although more concentrated. By the time the artist (Miles) had finished the first tattoo and marked out the second one, my endorphins had got going enough that the second one hurt very little.

My Trinity Knot tattoo

My Trinity Knot tattoo

Most tattoo shops look pretty off-putting from the outside, possibly a sign of wanting to attract people who’d like to look off-putting. I noticed one of my Krav Maga friends had a large tattoo on one of her legs, and I asked her for a recommendation, and she recommended Good Times Tattoo in Shoreditch, and so that’s where I went. It’s a cheerful-looking place, with lots of natural light, and very different from the dingy back-room image that I’d somehow associated with tattoo parlours up to then. I recommend them heartily; I’m planning to get some lettering added to my existing tattoos, and I’ll certainly be going back to Good Times for that.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

