Galvanized!

Having made all the new steel frames, the next stage was to place the floor plate sections over them, and drill through the plates and the frames together to make sure the holes were aligned properly.

After a late-night welding session putting weldnuts on and making various small changes, I had a collection of steel frameworks ready for galvanizing.

A couple of days later, they were ready for collection, shiny!

To provide even more protection, and to keep the steel and aluminium apart (to avoid electrolytic corrosion) I then painted them with direct-to-galvanized paint (one of the least fluid fluids I’ve used).

After that, it was a fairly simple job to start assembling the rear bodywork; it simply bolts together.

The rear bodywork begins

The rear bodywork begins

The upper rear sides are not the originals, but some I bought on eBay that have full-size sliding windows. The originals will go further forward, with the smaller, non-opening, windows.

3 Comments

  1. Posted 2012/11/21 at 6:33 PM | Permalink

    Lovely job, well done 🙂

    • Posted 2012/11/21 at 6:39 PM | Permalink

      Thanks! I’ll keep updating as I go along — I hope to make more progress on the bodywork this weekend.

      • Posted 2012/11/21 at 6:50 PM | Permalink

        The bodywork goes together quite quickly really, my wife and I swapped over a full hardtop back to a truck cab on her 109″ earlier this year and we did it in under an hour. That is the nice thing with panels that bolt together. Mind you we did forget to fit new rubber seals and are now paying the price as my wife is complaining that she’d remain dryer if she walked to the shops than drive due to the constant stream of water pouring onto her….. 🙂
        (the seal between windscreen and roof is u/s)

        I think the most time consuming job you’ll have is aligning the tub to the bulkhead and getting the door gaps set right. I just went through this recently with my 88″ and it was a pain.

        Good luck with it and I look forward to more progress.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

