Seatboxes and floors

At the weekend, I made some progress on the seatboxes and front and middle floors.

Middle seatbox covering and middle floor

Middle seatbox covering and middle floor

I fitted the skin of middle seatbox (apart from the sides), and the middle floor, and the kickplate at the front of it (which covers the cut-off end of the old loadspace floor). I’ve done most of the drilling for it, but my drill expired (got stuck in hammer mode) near the end, so there are still a few holes to do. I have to drill all the holes at this stage, to make sure they line up through the aluminium plates and steel frame, because when I take the frame off to prepare for galvanizing, it’ll have weldnuts welded to the back of each hole. I don’t want to have to drill through the zinc coat later (making potential rust points) and I don’t want loose nuts that have to be held on somehow from the other side while I tighten the bolts (especially as this is will eventually be an enclosed space, full of traction batteries).

Front floor going in

Front floor going in

I also started on the struts along the outside of the front floor, which were rather fiddly. It would have been easier had I positioned them before lowering the seatbox into place. Anyway,the driver’s side one is now in, and the floor plate is resting on it ready to be bolted in.

The next stages will probably be to do the front passenger’s floor, and complete the middle seatbox — it will have a frame at the back of it that will both take the front of the loadspace floor, and also form a compartment for the air heater and the air compressor.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

