More work on the seatboxes

To experiment with placing the second row of seats, I fitted one seat to the seatbox frame (which at this stage was just bolted together).

Trial-fitting of a second row seat

Trial-fitting of a second row seat

This position gave enough room for me to sit, but probably not much room for getting in and out once the door pillars are complete, and probably not enough room for people taller than me, so I’ll put it a couple of hole positions further back for the final fitting.

After cutting some corners off the seatbox extensions, I was able to get the front seatboxes into place.

The front seatboxes in place

The front seatboxes in place

Then I returned to the second row of seats; the framework has now been welded, and I bolted it into place.

Middle seatbox frame, welded

Middle seatbox frame, welded and positioned

The projecting ledge at the lower front will hold the rear of the middle floor section. The heavy box section at the upper rear will take the seatbelt fixings, and there’s some more metalwork to be added underneath it, to hold the front of the rear floor and wheelarches.

The ledge facing backwards, by the rear uprights, will be part of a box that will hold an air compressor and the air heater; the rest of the space under the seatbox is reserved for my future hybrid project, and will contain some of the batteries. (I was originally thinking of putting the motor in there too, but on further thought I’ve realized it’ll probably have to be further back.)

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

