Preparations for “project 170”

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been preparing for my “Project 170” — converting my Land-Rover 110 into a Land-Rover 170, as described in A new project begins. I’m still waiting for the new chassis; the chassis fabricator is still waiting for the laser-cut metal to be delivered, but at least they know some of it, perhaps all of it, has been cut. (It took the cutting company some time to source pieces of metal that long!)

These two will become one!

I’ve been doing quite a bit of shopping, some at local shops and garages, and some on-line. The largest so far has been another Land-Rover 110 (the green one, on the left in the picture), which I’ll strip for parts: in particular, the middle section of the bodywork, and the rear axle and suspension, and some extra roof. It happened to come with a snorkel, radio, and CB, so I’ll use those too. The second vehicle was originally a station wagon, but the previous owner had removed the rear side windows and replaced them with metal panels, so I’ve also bought a pair of rear panels with windows.

I’ve also bought most of the rubber parts (seals, bushes, etc) and some of the wiring; I’ll replace the entire wiring loom, with a more modular system. The new wiring will use 8-core cables and 8-way multiconnectors, which makes it very easy to document! There’ll also be a main power cable running to the rear of the vehicle, which other circuits can be relayed off. I’d been vacillating over whether to use 50 amp cable or the more expensive 70 amp cable, then decided that as I want to do this project really properly, to use 345 amp cable. That’ll let me jump-start other vehicles from it, or run a small electric rear winch if necessary.

This evening I emptied all the assorted Stuff that had accumulated in the Land-Rover over the nearly 15 years that I’ve owned him, and loaded up most of the parts I’ve bought. Tomorrow, I drive round to a friend’s backyard Land-Rover workshop, and park the vehicle there ready for the conversion (and switch to driving the spare-parts vehicle, which will remain driveable in its own right until well into the rebuild).

In the next few days, I hope to hear from the chassis fabricator; I’ve arranged to visit them once the chassis is built, to go through any last-minute alterations before they send it to be galvanized. Then they’ll deliver it, and the project can start in earnest! I’ll take a couple of weeks of annual leave to help; my friend with the Land-Rover workshop, who I’m paying to do the heavy work as part of his day job, reckons it’ll be three weeks of his time.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

