So annoyed I could have had icily polite words with someone

On my way home from work today, as usual I used the large roundabout with traffic lights at Milton Junction. I had stopped for the lights, being the first vehicle in the queue, and as I was starting a car went across in front of me going round the roundabout, not just narrowly proceding on red but blatantly ignoring the lights. I had to brake sharply, and sounded my horn, and flashed my lights repeatedly to ask the driver to pull in (like the police do), as I wanted to point out (and it would have been with icy politeness and considerable sarcasm) that red lights mean STOP, not GO, and that had a cyclist been using the roundabout they could well have been killed. I also wanted to get the driver’s details to report to DVLA; he looked fairly old, and although he might just have been a chancer I suspect he may no longer have been medically fit to drive — the sort of old person who causes accidents by getting onto the wrong carriageway of a motorway (this seems to happen quite a bit). Then I overtook and pulled up, and started to open my door to get out as he had to stop behind me, but he just drove off. I guess he may have been terrified, by a larger vehicle flashing lights and then making him pull up; perhaps he expected to be beaten up? But, against the fairly high risk of him killing someone, I really don’t care how bad an experience it was for him. The interesting question, philosophically, is whether people like that are morally responsible for their actions, or so clueless that a more appropriate thing is to cancel their legal adulthood by making them wards of court.
The lesson for me is to make a mental note of the registration number at the lights, rather than following to try to get details once clear of the junction. Also, a traffic incident camera is going onto my list of gadgets to acquire some time. And in the meantime until such a relatively expensive thing makes it to the top of my list, a voice recorder so I can reliably note down a registration number without needing to use a pen (that one’s now in my Amazon shopping basket). It’ll also be useful to record what’s said in case of an accident.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

