I’m going to a GeekNic

I hope to make it to the July Irish Geeknic in Dún Laoghaire this coming Sunday. Seeing that rail tickets cost more than driving there, but I don’t like to make longish driving journeys for just one thing, I’ll probably travel up Friday evening or Saturday, and find a campsite somewhere in County Wicklow, which is said to contain some very pleasant places but which I’ve not yet been to in my almost seven years in Ireland.

And some updates on small other matters: Katie Cat (a ginger tabby) has had six kittens, all of them ginger. She’s happy to let me handle them. I don’t normally like being up ladders, but I’ll put up with it if I get to play with kittens. (They’re in the loft in the barn.) Going by the colour, and by them not being particularly fluffy, I suspect Вадонтя Бугароф is the father.

Supermemo-style flashcards with the gamepad interface has, so far, proved a very enjoyable way to learn vocabulary and grammar facts.

And picking up again on my work on the language interface package Muesli, I’ve hit another problem with the Python API: you have to tell it whether to expect the string you’re giving it is an “expression” to evaluator or a “program” to run. A reasonable distinction in its way, but one not made by any of the other languages I support. I think the best way round it will be to write a piece of C code to analyze the string heuristically; I can do that without any heap allocation, and it sounds a better prospect than calling Python’s parser twice with different flags and seeing which one it likes better.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

