Wounded cat

Last thing last night, one of the tame outdoor cats, Pangaroo (named from Pangur Bán, a white cat in an early Irish poem, and Rua (red), as he is mostly white with ginger patches), appeared after an absence of a couple of days, with a big open wound on his tummy, just above one of his back legs. I rang the vet, who said it should be OK to wait until the morning. Then I brought Pangaroo into the house, which he was very chuffed about, and he settled quietly on a chair.

This morning I’ve taken him to the vet, and arranged for him to be castrated too, to make him less likely to stray and get into fights. The vet says he might leave the leg wound open, to let it drain better. I’ll find out when I pick him up this evening.

2 Comments

  1. Posted 2010/06/25 at 3:52 PM | Permalink

    I hope Pangaroo gets better soon!

    • Posted 2010/06/25 at 4:00 PM | Permalink

      Thanks! He seems to be doing OK. I let him sleep in the living room for the night after the operation, then last night I brought him in but he went out again when he had the chance. I don’t really want them to start thinking they’re allowed in in general! There are too many of them for that. They’re surprisingly good at waiting at the threshold even if the door’s open — but only when they know I’m looking!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

