Exim setup on Debian

A while ago, my work machine’s network connection changed, and now goes through the campus firewall, which meant I could no longer send mail directly from Emacs, and had to put up with Outlook webmail. At last I’ve got round to fixing it; if I’d known it would only take a couple of hours to do from cold, I would have done it much earlier.

The error was an “unable to relay for…” giving my login name rather than the email name that my Emacs had carefully placed there. I wondered whether this was a “rewriting” problem or a “transport” problem, but eventually found the file /etc/exim4/passwd.client that tells it what name to give when contacting the relay machine.

So now I can mail from Emacs again 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

